Four Movements for Five Brass

I. Introduction and March

II. Pretentions

III. Waltz

IV. Finale-allegro




Collier Jones (1928 – 2013)

Composer Information

Collier Jones was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts. He was a Korean war veteran, serving in the U.S. Army. He attended Yale and Brandeis Universities where he studied with s Paul Hindemith, Leonard Bernstein, and many others. In addition, Jones was an accomplished jazz musician, playing with the Army jazz band during his years of service.

During and after attending the Yale School of Music Jones enjoyed a brief career as a composer, eventually giving up his musical career to become a commercial lobster fisherman. As an active member of the Sandy Bay Yacht Club, he was a Rhodes 19 fleet captain and taught sailing lessons for many years.



Mentor Music, Inc.





Ranking Position



Dallas Symphony Orchestra Brass Quintet by Dallas Symphony Orchestra Brass Quintet: Crystal Records Inc., 2013.

Five By Five by US Air Force Tactical Air Command Band: Altissimo!, 2009.

Types of Instruments/Mutes

Standard formation. No mutes are required for this piece.

Final Considerations

Collier Jones wrote the Four Movements for Five Brass for the New York Brass Quintet. This piece is basically tonal with characteristic 7ths and 9ths added to chords to intensify colors and contrast, which is a typical neo-classical stylistic technique. The same theme is used in all movements. The first movement encompasses a unique march that is constantly changing meters. The second movement is more somber as each player passes the melodic material from one to another. The third movement features constant meter changes from 3/4 to 2/4, basically creating an off balanced waltz style. The final movement should be in a very fast pace tempo providing some tricky rhythms and ensemble challenges. This is a well-written composition that is accessible for a wide variety of student ensembles, although it includes some delicate writing in the upper range and it is musically challenging. Performers will really appreciate the process of learning something about neo-classicism as applied to traditional forms. Collier Jone's Four Movements for Five Brass could be a good alternative to the Ewald quintets.