Brass Quintet Op. 65

I. Andante con moto - Allegro

II. Andantino

III. Milton Vivace




Jan Koetsier (1911 – 2006)

Composer Information

Though relatively little known in the United States, except among brass players, Dutch-born composer, conductor and professor, Jan Koetsier, is well-regarded throughout Europe. He has served as the conductor of the Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam and the Bavarian Radio Symphony. As a composer, he devoted much of his efforts to brass and wind instruments. In 1999, he founded the International Jan Koetsier Competition to encourage and promote young brass ensembles. The composer says of the brass ensemble, “The attraction to the brass is inscribed throughout my entire work. The affinity to the special possibilities of different combinations lead to my desire to prove that brass chamber music should be considered a serious domain in the music world."  


Editions Marc Reift





Ranking Position




Arnold, Scheidt, Lutosławski, Berlin, Nagle & Koetsier: Music for Brass Quintet by Berlin Brass Quintet: Betont, 2017.

Strophes of the Night and Dawn by Florida State Brass Quintet, Bryan Goff, Moffatt Williams, Christopher Sala, Michelle Stebleton, John Drew & Paul Ebbers: Crystal Records Inc., 1997.

Brass On Parade by Custom Brass Quintet: CAFUA, 2003.

Music for Chamber Winds by United States Navy Band: Altissimo, 2006.

Types of Instruments/Mutes

Standard formation. No mutes required.

Final Considerations

Koetsier’s compositions are all well-crafted, enjoyable to perform and engaging to hear.   

Premiered by several of his collegues from the Concertgebouw Orchestra in 1974 in the city of Straubing, Germany, Koetsier offered many thoughts on the Brass Quintet, opus 65


“The rhythmical possibilities of brass instruments are extremely enticing; after a short and slow introduction these are relished to the utmost in the first movement of the quintet presented here, with its many changes of meter and shifted accents. In the second movement a simple, melodious phrase of the trumpet is contrasted with a burlesque theme from the tuba, which, following a few variations, are brought together in a choral manner at the end. The agility and virtuosity of the instrumentalists triumph in the last movement; in a vigorous 6/8 meter, interrupted only by a few obstinate 7/8 meters, the composition gyrates towards its finale.”  


Although this work is considered a masterpiece of the standard repertoire it is not very challenging, becoming accessible to college level students.